Congratulations to our winners. Thank you to all our finalists and applicants, everyone who voted and the judging panel.

In developing the challenge, many experts, organisations and groups were consulted including:

Independent Expert Panel (IEP)

The Australian Government’s Independent Expert Panel provides scientific and expert advice related to the Great Barrier Reef, including support for the implementation and review of the Reef 2050 Plan, Reef Water Quality Protection Plan and other matters. The inaugural Chair of IEP is Professor Ian Chubb, former Australian Chief Scientist.


Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA)

GBRMPA manages the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park so it’s protected for the future.

They use the best available scientific information to guide and engage with experts and the community. This includes four Reef Advisory Committees and 12 Local Marine Advisory Committees.


Great Barrier Reef Foundation’s International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC)

ISAC is made up of the leaders of research and management on the Reef, including the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, the Australian Institute of Marine Science, University of Queensland, James Cook University, Queensland University of Technology and CSIRO.

A wide group of advisors from science, technology, finance, innovation and creative industries around the world will also be consulted in assessing the challenge applications to choose the finalists. The finalists will be judged by an expert panel.

Meet the winners of the People's Choice Award!

Sign up to the newsletter

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Out of the Blue Box is supported by:
Out of the Blue Box partners: